Keynote Speakers

We are excited to announce the following individuals as Keynote Speakers for the TEFANZ / ATEA Conference 2020

Dr Angus Hikairo Macfarlane

Professor of Māori Research at the University of Canterbury (UC)

Dr Angus Hikairo Macfarlane (Te Arawa) is Professor of Māori Research at the University of Canterbury (UC), Director of Te Rū Rangahau, the Māori Research Laboratory at UC, Co-Director of the UC Child Wellbeing Institute, and principal investigator on many national research projects. His research focuses on exploring Indigenous and sociocultural imperatives that influence practice within education and psychology. Avid about Indigenous advancement, he has pioneered several theoretical frameworks associated with culturally responsive approaches for professional practitioners working across these disciplines. Professor Macfarlane’s prolific publication portfolio and exemplary teaching abilities have earned him national and international standing in his field of scholarship.



Katrina Thorpe

Postdoctoral Indigenous Research Fellow, Centre for Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges, University of Technology Sydney

Dr Katrina Thorpe is the inaugural Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Indigenous Research Fellow at the Centre for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges, University of Technology Sydney. Katrina has 20 years’ experience teaching mandatory and elective Indigenous Studies in teacher education. Her doctoral research explored the ways non-Indigenous preservice teachers’ life experiences prior to entering university and subsequent engagement in Indigenous Studies at university influenced their professional identity development. Katrina’s current research focuses on innovative educational approaches that engage preservice teachers in place-based ‘Learning from County/Land’ in Australia and Canada. Katrina is passionate about researching and developing pedagogies that facilitate connections between all students, Aboriginal people and Country.

Katrina was the recipient of a 2013 Faculty of Education & Social Work Teaching Excellence Award (Koori Centre Team) and in 2017 received a Commendation for Excellence in Teaching Indigenous Health and Communities as part of the Indigenous Studies major at the University of Sydney.

Linda Clarke

Research Director for Education at Ulster University

Professor Linda Clarke  was born in Brooklyn, New York, moving to Northern Ireland in early childhood.  She qualified as a teacher in 1983 and served as a Geography teacher and Head of Department for 15 years.  She was appointed as a Lecturer in Education at Ulster University in 2001 and served as Head of the School of Education at Ulster from 2009 to 2013. Linda’s key research interests lie in Teacher Education, particularly around Education Technology and Global Learning.  Linda was the Northern Chair of SCoTENS  (The Stranding Conference for Teacher Education, North and South  – a cross border body for teacher education on the island of Ireland,  2013-2016) and Chair of UCETNI (the Universities’ Council for the Education of Teachers,  2010-2011 and 2017-2019).  She is currently Research Director for Education at Ulster and is member of the REF 2021 Sub-Panel for Education.


Keep up to date with Conference News & Alerts

Key Dates

Abstract submission opens:
6 Nov 2019

Registration opens:
6 Nov 2019

Abstract submission closes:
6 March 2020

Notification of acceptance of abstracts:
9 April 2020

Accepted Author Registration closes:
23 April 2020

Early-bird registration closes:
9 May 2020

Pre-conference forum (PhD students, early and mid-career researchers):
7 July 2020

Welcome Reception and Book launch:
8 July 2020

Commencement of formal conference programme:
8 July 2020

Conference Dinner and Awards/Grants Winners:
9 July 2020

End of formal conference programme: 
10 July 2020


Melissa Burnett
Event Services
University of Auckland